Consultation

My name is Burhanuddin Rashid. I'm a Senior Software Engineer with 10+ years of experience building cross-platform applications using Flutter and Android native apps. I've been a Google Developer Expert in Flutter for 5+ years.

I worked remotely with companies in the US, UK, UAE, Kuwait, and Vietnam in the Agile discipline (Sprint), which gave me a broad understanding of how different teams work in various countries.

I am open to Consultation and Training. If any of my experiences sound interesting to you, reach out to me at burhanrashid5253@gmail.com or DM me on Twitter or LinkedIn.

When I moved to Junior Android Developer and then moved to a Mid-level Android developer position, I spent more time learning more technically advanced things. This is where I learned how important it is to make your code more modular and readable. Because of this, I was able to extract an image editing library from a PDF notes app and open-source it. The library is still active and led me to a talk at Droidcon Berlin.

I was promoted to Android Tech Lead, where I had to Lead a multidisciplinary team (backend and frontend). I learned a lot about leadership/management. Here, I worked on the toughest mobile project, building an offline-first application for drivers who deliver packages. The tech team was distributed with 5 members in person and 3 members from Vietnam. This was a hybrid model of working before COVID.

When COVID-19 hit, I was invited (hired) to work on a COVID-19 vaccination orchestration system called DIVOC. Although the project wasn't a mobile app, I wanted to help save lives during the pandemic so I joined and learned React to build the offline first PWA app and Go lang to support other services in the system. The result was a stable app that generated 2 Billion certificates.

The biggest learning here for me was how 80% of computer science concepts overlap with different technologies. Always focus on fundamentals.

I always wanted to work remotely, and COVID gave me the opportunity to work for a US product-based startup that built task management with chat apps as a Senior Flutter Developer.

The foundation was set up, but the business was experiencing delays for each release by 1 week. Whenever a team builds a new feature, QAs spend a lot of time on regression testing, which slows down releases. My impact was to ensure a maintainable code base with unit and integration testing, which reduced the time to market by 50%, allowing us to ship features on a weekly basis. My biggest learning here was understanding how a startup operates and how to ship quickly.

Then I had the opportunity to work for another UK product-based startup which was an Asset Aggregator app in the Fintech space. Here, I was the Lead Flutter Architect to build the project Architecture from scratch in Flutter while teaching and mentoring two native developers to learn Flutter. The biggest compliment I received here was from the CTO, who said, "We never missed a deadline in 8 months."

In addition to these chronological experiences, I have consulted and freelanced for many startup projects, sharing my knowledge through writing blogs, speaking at conferences, creating online courses, and publishing packages in my spare time.

I have also taught and mentored 10+ Flutter developers via my effective Flutter Dev live classes

I have worked on the frontend (Android, Flutter, React) and backend (Go Lang, Spring Boot) projects. My biggest learning from this was how to sell my skills so that people are happy to give me work. I learned "how to sell stuff" from this experience.